Elder Law Section

Elder Law is an interdisciplinary practice, addressing any legal issue that older clients and their families contend with.  Typically elder law issues include estate planning and public benefits, conservatorships, trust administration, and financial elder abuse or neglect.  Elder Law often overlaps with other practice areas – it is not uncommon for elder law issues to arise in real estate matters/unlawful detainers, restraining orders, and civil litigation.  Elder Law issues are everywhere, and non-Elder Law attorneys can benefit from what the Elder Law Section offers.

The Elder Law Section presents programs that help keep attorneys informed about Elder Law issues, including brown bag lunches and more formal MCLEs.  Pandemic permitting, the section hosts informal networking opportunities and provides a Conservatorship Workshop as a joint project with the Superior Court.

The Elder Law Section Board currently has vacancies.  If you have any questions or are interested in participating, please contact Kathryn Schofield at kschofield@schofieldlawgroup.com or (925) 280-1700.


Kathy Schofield
Chair

Kathy Schofield
Schofield Law Group
3100 Oak Road, Suite 100
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
925-280-1700
kschofield@schofieldlawgroup.com

Secretary/Treasurer

Ritzi K. Lam
Morrill Law
925-322-8615
ritzi@morrill.law

Education Program Chair

Lara Heisler
Heisler Rosenfeld LLP
925-386-6885
lara@heislerrosenfeldlaw.com

Social Event Chair

Mona Nia
The Bray Law Firm LLP
925-228-2550
mona@brayattorneys.com

 

Board Members

Ana Allec
Acuna Regli
925-906-1880
ana.allec@acunaregli.com

Douglas Housman
Law Offices of Cain, Cain & Housman
925-932-0893
dhousman@lawofficesofcch.com

Brian O’Toole
The Law Office of Brian O’Toole
925-944-1665
brian@brianotoolelaw.com

Andrew Verriere
Hartog, Baer, Zabronsky & Verriere
925-253-1717
averriere@hbzvlaw.com